top of page

President Draupadi Murmu named new governors in 12 states and 1 UT - Cseet current affairs

President Draupadi Murmu named new governors in 12 states and 1 UT

President of India Droupadi Murmu appointed 13 new Governors while accepting the resignations of Bhagat Singh Koshyari as Governor of Maharashtra and of Radha Krishnan Mathur as Lt. Governor of Ladakh on 12 February.

Following is the complete list of new governors who have been appointed. These appointments will take effect from the dates they assume charge of their respective offices :-

The fresh appointments

1. Governor of Arunachal Pradesh -Lt. General Kaiwalya Trivikram Parnaik (Retired)

2. Governor of Sikkim - Lakshman Prasad Acharya,

3. Governor of Jharkhand - C P Radhakrishnan,

4. Governor of Himachal Pradesh - Shiv Pratap Shukla,

5. Governor of Assam - Gulab Chand Kataria,

6. Governor of AndhraPradesh - S. Abdul Nazeer,

Change of states of some current governors

1. Governor of Andhra Pradesh appointed as Governor of Chhattisgarh -

Justice (Retd) BiswaBhusan Harichandan

2. Governor of Chhattisgarh appointed as Governor of Manipur -

Anusuiya Uikye

3. Governor of Manipur appointed as Governor of Nagaland -

La. Ganesan

4. Governor of Bihar appointed as Governor of Meghalaya -

Phagu Chauhan

5. Governor of Himachal Pradesh appointed as Governor of Bihar -

Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar

6. Governor of Arunachal Pradesh appointed as Lt. Governor of Ladakh -

Brig (Dr) B D Mishra (Retd)

7. Governor of Jharkhand appointed asGovernor of Maharashtra -

Ramesh Bais

How are Governors appointed?

• Article 153 of the Constitution says “There shall be a Governor for each State.”

• According to Article 155 "the Governor of a State shall be appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal".

• Under Article 156, "the Governor shall hold office during the pleasure of the President", but his term shall be five years.

• Articles 157 and 158 lay down the qualifications and terms of office of the Governor.

Age and eligibility

• The Governor must be a citizen of India and must have completed 35 years of age.

• The Governor should not be a member of Parliament or State Legislature, and should not hold any other office of profit.

• The position of Governor is envisaged as a political head who has to act on the advice of the Council of Ministers of the State.

• Article 153- Governors of states

• Article 154- Executive power of state

• Article 155- Appointment of Governor

• Article 156- Term of office of Governor

• Article 157- Qualifications for appointment as Governor

• Article 158- Conditions of Governor’s office

• Article 159- Oath or affirmation by the Governor

• Article 160- Discharge of the functions of the Governor in certain contingencies

• Article 161- Power of the Governor to grant pardons and others

• Article 162- Extent of executive power of state

• Article 163- Council of ministers to aid and advise the Governor

Who can remove the Governor of a State from its office?

He/she is appointed by the President and holds his office during the pleasure of the latter. A Governor's normal term of office is five years. However, he can be removed by the President at any time without assigning any cause.

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page